It’s All About Muscadines This Fall

My tours have been tasting my homemade muscadine grape chutney and jam this fall at our tea parties at the end of our mornings together. My husband and teenagers and friends have picked with me at Irvin Vineyards on Wadmalaw Island. The purple, golden, bronze and green pearls have been picked, squished, deseeded, and made into chutney and jam as well as iced cream in my kitchen, the war room. I am wild about them as I have learned that not only do they have zippy flavor unlike anything else, they are way ahead of all else at the top of the food pyramid of antioxidants. A stray seed is occasionally crunched, but I fret not because muscadine grape seed is being found to have powers, too. The seeds are being made into supplements for antioxidants. Many thanks to my friend Anne Limehouse Irvin at Irvin Vineyard who allowed me to glean freely twice after they picked for their wines. Though made primarily for my husband who loves my muscadine culinary makings, when I find a good thing, I cannot help sharing a taste with my tours.
If you get a chance to go to Irvin Vineyards, the grapes are gone but the wines are not. The vineyards are so beautiful in the wilds of our sea island of Wadmalaw Island. To know Charleston, you have to go to one of our sea islands to understand how we love the land. We inherit that love from our ancestors, as Mr Willy McLeod said of his McLeod Plantation on James Island.

My private tours are busy this fall season. but I do still have open dates that no one has touched. Why do all want the same dates?  The late afternoons and evenings are the best time to try to catch me unless we are at table, sacred family time. Bring out the silver at least in your mind as you head to Charleston to partake in our rich history, culture, and culinary delights of the season. As the world changes, Charleston steeps in its rich heritage into a full bodied wine. Come! Leave me a message for reservations for my 9 a.m. private tour Mondays through Fridays and I will call you back.  You don’t know what you are missing!
–Laura 843-577-5896

Leave a comment

Filed under breaking routine, for foodies, muscadine grapes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

